Channel Madness Round 1: A Tie In The Cloud Region, Plus Numerous Lead Changes

The CRN Channel Madness polls were busy over the weekend as several channel chiefs recovered their swagger to take the lead.

We’re more than halfway through Round 1 voting in the 2020 CRN Channel Madness Tournament of Chiefs and there are a number of lead changes to report

We’ve got a dead heat in the Cloud region, where Intermedia’s Jonathan McCormic k has come back strong and is currently tied with VMware’s Jenni Flinders, with each bringing in 50 percent of the vote.

Amazon Web Service’ Doug Yeum has stormed back and now has 60 percent of the vote in his matchup against Microsoft’s Gavriella Schuste r, who’s at 40 percent.

Sponsored post

In the Infrastructure region, Cisco’s Oliver Tuszi k is coming on strong with 71 percent of the vote against NetApp’s Chris Lamborn, who’s at 29 percent.

Meanwhile in the Security region, Juniper’s Gordon Mackintosh has pulled ahead of reigning champion Chris Carter of FireEye, with Mackintosh leading 56 percent to 44 percent.

And SonicWall’s HoJin Kim has pulled ahead and is leading with 52 percent of the vote in his matchup with McAfee’s Ken McCray.

There were several other lead changes as well. Here’s a look at the full results so far:


Paul Hunter, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, 75 vs. Andy Martin, Pure Storage, 25

Shannon Sbar, APC by Schneider Electric, 74 vs. Rob Rae, Datto, 26

Oliver Tuszik, Cisco Systems, 71 vs. Chris Lamborn, NetApp, 29

Curtiz Gangi, Eaton, 41 vs. Nicole Roskill, Lenovo, 59


Sammy Kinlaw, Lexmark, 76 vs. Kimberly King, Hitachi Vantara, 24

Joyce Mullen, Dell Technologies, 40 vs. Scott Lannum, HP Inc., 60

Rob Cato, Lenovo, 75 vs. Nick Tidd, Poly, 25

Donna Grothjan, Aruba, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company, 73 vs. Jason Kimrey, Intel, 27


Carola Cazenave, IBM, 64 vs. Kevin Rooney, Veeam, 36

Carolee Gearhart, Google, 37 vs. Stephen Mungall, Red Hat, 63

Doug Yeum, Amazon Web Services, 60 vs. Gavriella Schuster, Microsoft, 40

Jonathan McCormick, Intermedia, 50 vs. Jenni Flinders, VMware, 50


Frank Rauch, Check Point Software Technologies, 78 vs. Steve Pataky, Ubiq Security, 22

Chris Carter, FireEye, 44 vs. Gordon Mackintosh, Juniper, 56

Jon Bove, Fortinet, 24 vs. Kendra Krause, Sophos, 76

Ken McCray, McAfee, 48 vs. HoJin Kim, SonicWall, 52

That's where things sit after four days of voting in Channel Madness. Voting in Round 1 remains open until noon ET on Wednesday, March 18. Visit to cast your vote and choose your chief!