Choose Your Chief: 2020 CRN Channel Madness Voting Is Now Open!

CRN's sixth annual Channel Madness Tournament of Chiefs begins with 32 of the industry's most prominent channel executives and ends with one. Prepare to choose your chief.


It starts with 32 of the industry's most prominent channel chiefs. It ends with one.

The 2020 CRN Channel Madness Tournament of Chiefs kicks off on Thursday, March 12, pitting some of the channel's best-known executives against each other in head-to-head battles where CRN readers vote to determine the victors.

The winners of our sixth annual tournament will make their way, round by round, through the bracket, moving closer and closer to the championship match, where bragging rights are at stake. The losers? Better luck next year.

Sponsored post

Some of last year's favorites are back for another run, like FireEye's Chris Carter, who won the whole shooting match last year, but there are also some new faces in the contest, such as Lenovo's Nicole Roskill, NetApp's Chris Lamborn and Amazon Web Services' Doug Yeum.

Is it a popularity contest? A beauty contest? A vote for the executive that's advocated on your behalf or a vote against one who didn't step up when you needed help? It's up to you. The power of the vote is entirely in your hands.

One thing's for sure: It will all be a lot of fun.

Culled from CRN's 2020 Channel Chiefs list, CRN editors selected the 32 participants, representing a variety of vendors across the technology industry, from startups to stalwarts. Each represents one of four technology "regions:" Cloud, Hardware, Infrastructure and Security.

Voting for Round 1 opens on Thursday, March 12 at 10 a.m. ET with 16 executive face-offs and will remain open until Wed., March 18 at noon ET. You can follow all the action at and on social media with the hashtag #CRNChannelMadness And there's still time to enter our bracket contest to see if you can predict the winner.

Here's a look at the 2020 CRN Channel Madness tournament match-ups.


Paul Hunter, Hewlett Packard Enterprise vs. Andy Martin, Pure Storage

Shannon Sbar, APC by Schneider Electric vs. Rob Rae, Datto

Oliver Tuszik, Cisco Systems vs. Chris Lamborn, NetApp

Curtiz Gangi, Eaton vs. Nicole Roskill, Lenovo


Sammy Kinlaw, Lexmark vs. Kimberly King, Hitachi Vantara

Joyce Mullen, Dell Technologies vs. Scott Lannum, HP Inc.

Rob Cato, Lenovo vs. Nick Tidd, Poly

Donna Grothjan, Aruba, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company vs. Jason Kimrey, Intel


Carola Cazenave, IBM vs. Kevin Rooney, Veeam

Carolee Gearhart, Google vs. Stephen Mungall, Red Hat

Doug Yeum, Amazon Web Services vs. Gavriella Schuster, Microsoft

Jonathan McCormick, Intermedia vs. Jenni Flinders, VMware


Frank Rauch, Check Point Software Technologies vs. Steve Pataky, Ubiq Security

Chris Carter, FireEye vs. Gordon Mackintosh, Juniper

Jon Bove, Fortinet vs. Kendra Krause, Sophos

Ken McCray, McAfee vs. HoJin Kim, SonicWall

So, ladies and gentlemen, choose your chief.